the 2023

Principal Leadership Awards

A Message From Our Partners at the Florida Lottery:

The TaxWatch Principal Leadership Awards are proudly sponsored by the Florida Lottery. Florida TaxWatch firmly believes in the importance of continued education. Check out the linked video to learn more about the Bright Futures program! 

Building a Culture of Success: What Effective Principals Do

Among all school-related factors that contribute to what students learn at school, leadership is perhaps second only to classroom instruction. Furthermore, the impact of leadership tends to be the greatest in schools where the learning needs of students are most acute. The greater the challenge, the greater the impact an effective principal can have on student learning. There are virtually no documented instances of troubled schools being turned around without intervention by an impactful leader. Many other factors contribute to such turnarounds, but leadership is the catalyst.

This report compares the strategies employed by this year’s roundtable participants to those employed by preceding participants to identify best practices and “key takeaways” for consideration by policymakers and education professionals.


The 2022-23 Winners

Elementary School Winners

Becky Wilkerson

Middleburg Elementary School

Clay County

Mike Mahl

Palm Bay Elementary School

Brevard County

Bruce Hightower

Rosenwald Elementary School

Palm Beach County

Lisa Lee

Richardson Sixth Grade Academy

Columbia County

Edna Bailey

Oasis Middle School

Manatee County

Dr. Bridgette Tate-Wyche

Lillie C. Evans K-8 Center

Miami Dade County

Matthew McLelland

Chiefland Middle High School

Levy County

Rolando Bailey

Evans High School

Orange County

Eugene Ford

Indian Ridge School

Palm Beach County

Our Generous Sponsors